• Follow Us on Twitter
  • Follow Us on Twitter

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Announces Names For Senate Elections

According to a press release issued here on Friday, the party has issued tickets to Mohsin Aziz, Shibli Faraz, Fazal Muhammad Khan and Barrister Salman Afridi on general seats.
On technocrat seats, the party has issued tickets to Nouman Wazir and Latif Yousafzai.
On minority seats, the party has issued tickets to John Cannet William and Ruvi Kumar. The party said that it had received a total of 131 applications – 80 for general seats and 51 for technocrats – for Senate polls and tickets were issued to the candidates on the basis of competency after a thorough scrutiny of applications.
KP chief minister’s sister-in-law Nafisa Bibi had also submitted an application but the party refused her ticket.
Source also said that the party’s parliamentary board had included names of PTI Provincial President Azam Sawati and General Secretary Khalid Masod but later their names were withdrawn after differences emerged in the party over the selection.
Meanwhile, a like-minded group in the PTI has opposed the party’s decision to issue ticket to Liaquat Tarkai, father of Provincial Health Minister Shehram Tarkai, who is also leader of Awami Jamhoori Itehad.
The like-minded groups said that Tarkai first merged his party with the PTI, as he had promised earlier, before any ticket was issued to him